## **RESOLUTION NO. 2008-176**

## A RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING JIM B. HIGGINBOTHAM FOR HIS SERVICE TO THE CITIZENS OF NASSAU COUNTY AS A MEMBER OF THE NASSAU COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

WHEREAS, Jim B. Higginbotham was elected to serve as a member of the Nassau County Board of County Commissioners from November 16, 2004 to November 17, 2009; and

17, 2008; and

WHEREAS, Jim B. Higginbotham was first elected to serve as a County Commissioner in 1988 and served until 1996; and

WHEREAS, Jim B. Higginbotham served with distinction and dedication as a member of the Board of County Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, Jim B. Higginbotham was appointed by his colleagues to serve as Vice Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners in the year 2006; and

WHEREAS, because of his leadership ability, Jim B. Higginbotham was appointed to serve as Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners in the year 2007; and

WHEREAS, Jim B. Higginbotham represented the Board on the First Coast Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO); and

WHEREAS, Jim B. Higginbotham served as the Board's representative on the Jacksonville Electric Authority (JEA) Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, Jim B. Higginbotham has always afforded every citizen who has appeared before the Board of County Commissioners respect and fairness; and

1

WHEREAS, Jim B. Higginbotham gave unsparingly of his time, energy and knowledge in assisting the Commission in addressing issues which faced the Board and the citizenry.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** this 10th day of November, 2008 by the Board of County Commissioners of Nassau County, Florida as follows:

- Jim B. Higginbotham's exemplary service to the citizens of Nassau County as a member of the Board of County Commissioners from November 16, 2004 to November 17, 2008 is hereby acknowledged.
- The Board of County Commissioners commends and thanks Jim B.
  Higginbotham on behalf of all the citizens of Nassau County for his dedication and service during his tenure as County Commissioner, District 1.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS NASSAU COUNTY, FLORIDA

arshell

MARIANNE MARSHALL Its: Chair

BOYL

BARRY HOLL

Attest as to Chair's signature:

JOHN A. CRAWFORD Its: Ex-Officio Clerk

Approved as to Chair's Signature:

2

DAVID A. HALLMAN